
I had dinner at this Korean BBQ in LA yesterday; somewhere in Korea Town. Interesting quasi-outdoor atmosphere with lots of noise, people, and meat. Great for large gatherings and drunkfests; and for the carnivore in all of us.

True, it is All-U-Can-Eat for $15, but they really get you on drinks; most people at Manna are celebrating one thing or another and celebrating is a call for alcohol. Regardless, the food was just as expected (Korean BBQ) but I did confirm a few things about myself:
1.) I'm just not that interested in food
2.) I hate traffic in California (Saturday night there was traffic there and traffic back [at midnight] WTF!?!?)
3.) Based on #1 & #2, there is no reason to drive to LA for Korean BBQ, there are plenty locally; the cost does not justify the 2 1/2 hour round trip to get to Manna and back
4.) I'm not a big fan of Korean BBQ, too 'much' meat and you smell nasty afterwards

Other than the company, this was the only bright spot.
Other observations:
After most of my life in 'LA', I know very little about life outside suburbia. I feel there is so much to explore in LA... On the other hand, I lived in Corning, NY for a year and I felt like I owned the City. I ate at every single restaurant and frequented all the bars. I know more about Berkeley, Taipei, then I will ever know about LA. LA is a mystery to me and because there is traffic in every direction at all odd hours during the day, I'll gladly stay in the comfort of my home. City of Angels; yes, I'll discover you when I become one myself.

5 comments:
My introduction to Korean BBQ was Christmas Eve in Toronto. To make a long story short the GF and I were without food, I raced along Yonge St. and the only place open was this great little Korean BBQ place - excellent instance of serendipity!
Man, that food looks good, but it's not worth LA traffic, especially when there is a good place just down the road on the corner of Lemon and Colima.
me, i m different from u. i love food. i wont mind driving for good food :P
... except for cheesecake...
fine, or maybe i m becoming like u ;(
Post a Comment