Monday, April 9, 2007

My Bad...


I was invited to be in one of my HS friend's bridal parties this past week; the wedding is two weeks away. My hair was getting a little shaggy so I thought, PERFECT, get a haircut now and it will be just right for the wedding. Before I go on, let me just clarify that it doesn't take much to cut my hair, 1 on the sides, fade-up, 1/2" off the top; easy peasy. Plus, I don't have a designated hair stylist, so I go to the closest 'super cuts' and where there is the least amount of wait time. Back to the story, on Saturday morning I go to the plaza down the hill from where I live, there were 6 or 9 people in line so I decided to go to this 'barber shop' a few minutes away. I step through the door and literally everyone stares at me; I don't care much for racial barriers so I ask how long the wait would be, the barber says '30 minutes'. There were 3 other men waiting in front of me. If you haven't guessed from the picture, everyone in this 'barber shop' including the barber was African American; black as can be. I sat down and thought, wow; imagine one of these black guys walking into one of the hair salon's in Rowland Heights... yes, use your imagination. Ironically 'White Men Can't Jump' was on the TV so I sat there watching it, for an hour! There were some interesting conversations during the wait but to finish off this story, when it was my turn I told the barber "1 on the sides, fade-up, 1/2" off the top"; at the end of the day, 'MY BAD' for going into that barber shop. I don't much care what my hair looks like because I don't have anyone to impress, but truthfully, this was the worst haircut I have had since I can remember. Note to self: you are not black, stay away from black institutions. [for any African American readers, I am not trying to be racist, but you can cut the fro, but you got no skills when it comes to a Taiwan Man's hair]

2 comments:

fchenod said...

Haha, I wonder if they thought you wanted 1/2" left on top. take a picture, I want to know how bad it was. Maybe they are just messing with you.

Unknown said...

hahaha... *kaini laughing n falling from her chair* its not that bad, babe. its ok, i still love you.