Friday, June 27, 2008

Mediocre Madness



We've discovered RedBox for quite some time now; it is actually very convenient and you can usually get the newest movies for $1 a night and can return them at any of the 80,000 locations nation wide. We've watched several movies in the past 2 weeks and I have to say; they have been pretty darn mediocre - nothing blew me away; and some were pretty darn awful. Here is my list; from best of the mediocre to simply don't watch:

#1. Juno
I know there was a lot of hype behind this movie; won some awards, and was written by an ex-stripper. Smart dialogue but no one talks like that in real life... but out of the bunch, this is the one I would recommend.

#2. Bucket List
Decent movie; pretty close to Juno on my scale.

#3. Harry Potter; Order of Phoenix
The 5th installment; if you like Harry Potter I'm sure you'll like it - again, it just didn't blow me away. Read the book, use your imagination.

#4. Semi-Pro
Although I love basketball, this is not one of Will Ferrel's better movies (and I like him). It's a dud.

#5. Cloverfield
May be worth watching for its novelty; Blair Witch style meets Godzilla. Wasn't overly entertaining.

#6. 10,000 B.C.
Wow this was pretty bad; horrible acting, horrible script, no nudity, and very little gore. Visually 'ok'. Watch Apocalypto instead - almost the exact same story but definitely more fast paced and entertaining.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Saving the Oak Grove



Why do people sympathize with these idiots? Do you know it has cost the University as well as the UC Police Department $600,000 in the last two years? The UCPD should tranquilize these idiot monkeys and ship them to the Amazon where they can be one with the trees. So these guys have accomplished nothing in their lives and I'm sure all of their parents are very proud; really, stop wasting everyone's time and money.

Idiot Woman
This woman is just one big idiot, I wish she fell and broke her leg.

Idiot Group of Naked People
Wow, are these people the stupidest people you've ever seen. Listen to what the photographer is saying... cultish...

Saturday, June 21, 2008

Shaven

We've been seeing some scorching hot temperatures here in SoCal; K actually thought Tank was having a heat stroke the other day. With the onset of true summer; we took PiRo and Tank to the groomers for a shave (Money doesn't seem to mind the heat...). The groomers suggested not shaving Tank; I'm glad we listened to the recommendation - take a look at some of these hilarious before & after pictures:

The Three Stooges:


PiRo in his nice winter coat:


PiRo in the nude (HAHA - K and I couldn't stop laughing):


Before; from behind (you can see Tank's relative size - also PiRo's fluff):

Friday, June 20, 2008

Over the Hill

Two things:
1. It took me a painful ~31 minutes to run 3.1 miles the other day. This coming from someone who ran 5:15 miles and 18:00 5k's just 10 years ago... yikes '10' years ago - I'm over the hill...

2. I went to Pantera Park last night; one of my old stomping grounds - I would ball and dominate there several nights a week during my summer breaks etc. I drove by and saw the lights, I saw the kids, I saw the competition (this would have fueled me 5 years ago); but on this day I went across the street to the elementary school and quietly shot baskets until dusk.. by myself - I'm over the hill...

At least being over the hill I have this to look forward to; the next upgrade (after 5 or 10 years - when I'm really old...):


Harley Night Rod Special - Black and Orange HOT!!!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Update

It's been a month since my last post. Here are some updates:

Tank is much bigger than Money now and is probably shoulder to shoulder with PiRo; another week and we'll have a new big dog on premises.

The only good thing to come out of Boston:


I passed MSF and will now cruise around on this Yamaha V-Star Custom that my wife bought me (save me a buck or two at the pump):


Waiting to get this nice summer jacket to go along with the bike: